Ask.God

I have two children, son (17) and daughter (14). Kids enjoy shopping with me when my wallet is tight, but sometimes when I am broke and need to do some necessary shopping I tell my kids the condition of my wallet and my son understands it well. But my daughter, she still asks. Though I get upset with her, at the end I buy her what she asked for. This makes me feel good, and I enjoy seeing her happy. ‘If I, then, though I am evil, know how to give good gifts to my daughter, how much more will The Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask Him!’ (Mathew 7:11).

Bible says, “You do not have, because you do not ask God” (James 4:2). If so, how do we ask? “If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer” (Mathew 21:22). But sometimes we do not receive, that is “Because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” (James 4:3) or otherwise it may not be what God wants for you, “I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for” (Jeremiah 29:11). Now again, how do we know what to ask for? Jesus said, “If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you”. So “this is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us” (1 John 5:14).

Personally, I have good experience in asking God and I have received everything that I have ever asked for. When I have to find a new job after each contract, I ask God for two things – Designation and salary. Believe me, He provides exactly what I ask. Sometimes I had to wait for more than a year struggling, but at the end He provides me what I asked. Even my near once used to tell me to accept whatever offer that comes first. But I was adamant to take it from him, I always knew my Lord will provide.

There is a technique in asking. “Whatever you ask for in prayer, beleive that you received it, and it will be yours” (Mark 11:24). Whenever I ask, I ask for things more than my eligibility, so that the whole credit goes to Him without doubt. I ask not to test Him, but I ask so that I know deep in my heart how much I need it and so I beleive I will receive it (no matter how long it takes). This time I asked for a position as Design Engineer, and I’ll be joining Wood Group as ‘Senior Design Engineer’ with zero experience in designing. You might be thinking how I could perform the job. “What, then, shall ‘I’ say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?” (Romans 8:31). And salary, He has provided me $100 more than what I asked for.

My request to all who read this is to “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you”. And when you ask, don’t be stingy.

3 thoughts on “Ask.God”

  1. `Asking for things more than our eligibility` is a great factor for increasing our hope in god . Now I can experince it. Thank you..

Leave a comment